Posted by: Mike | May 23, 2009

Linksys SR2016 repair

Finally got my hands on a dead Linksys SR2016, 16 port Gigabit switch.  Replaced the three swollen 1500uF 6.3V capacitors with some I picked up on Ebay (20 for ~$10).  Now it works like a champ.  Looking at the board I’m guessing it’s the same as the SR2024.  The dead caps are of the same variety as the ones that are kaput on the SD2008, labeled “STONE.”  I’m posting across it now.  So yeah, if you have a dead Linksys switch and you are too chicken to fix it, drop my a line.  I’m 4 for 4 so far.

Responses

  1. I just encountered an SR2016 that only the right 4 ports (7, 8, 15, 16) are working. Upon opening the switch, I also found the same capacitors you mention were blown. I’ve replaced them, but without success. When the switch is powered up, the LED’s on the “dead” ports flash, but not the ones on the working ports.

    I think it is time to replace it…


Leave a Reply

Categories

